Skip to content


The unitary authority of Medway is dominated by the urban conglomeration of the five Medway towns: Rochester, Strood, Gillingham, Chatham and Rainham.

The area also covers the Hoo Peninsula and Isle of Grain which the combines bleak, openness of the North Kent Marshes and Medway Estuary with the industrial complexes of the various coal, oil and gas power stations and import terminals and Thamesport.

Rochester was a city but lost it’s status some years ago due an administrative error this Roman and Medieval city became a town, so Medway as a whole is now bidding to regain city status.

Hot issues

  • Plans for a new coal fired power station at Kingsnorth, to replace the existing one, achieved national and international coverage thanks to the Climate Camp and the police over-reaction and dubious tactics. A power station may still go ahead, and two gas fired power stations have since been approved nearby, but a lot hinges on whether a workable and affordable Carbon Capture & Storage (CCS) scheme for the area can be built.
  • Growth, as part of the Thames Gateway, has put pressure on the countryside surrounding Medway and the greenspaces within it. However this appears to have lessened due to the recesssion and the slump in house building.